Enable Accessibility Bar

Programme Description

The Pearson BTEC Level 1 Introductory Certificate and Diploma in Information Technology are desgined around practical skills and tasks that place an emphasis on learners demonstrating what they can do rather than what they know in theory.  The qualifications give learners the opportunity to acquire and develop generic, transferable and sector-specific skills in order to complete tasks and demonstrate a level of achievement that enables them to progress to further learning.

All learners taking these qualifications will study core units that focus on key transferable skills such as research and planning, time management and working with others.  The IT units cover activities such as solving technical IT problems, creating a website and developing a digital product.

At a Glance

  Full Time

  1 year

  Graig Campus

Programme Features

Transferable Skills coverage

Communication - writing, speaking and listening to others, using body language to help communication, using commuication for different purposes, comunicating in a variety of ways, including electronic and social media.

Working with others - setting common goals, showing respect for others in a team and valuing their contributions, listening to others in the team and being open minded.  Taking on roles and responsibilities.

Problem Solving - identifying issues by being able to examine information, dealing with change, decision making to find solutions, staying with a problem until it is resolved, and using IT to help solve problems.

Sector Skills coverage

The sector units introduce learners to some broad sector skills and to some underpinning knowledge of a vocational sector.  This will help learners to prepare for progression and ensures that the approach to delivery is practical, active, contextualised and skills based.

Functional Skills coverage

The units in this specification signpost opportunities for learners to develop functional skills in English and Mathematics.

Programme Content

The course consists of 4 core units plus 6 sector units, as follows:-

Core Units

A1 - Being Organised

A2 - Developing a Personal Progression Plan

A3 - Working with Others

A4 - Research a Topic

Sector Units

IT5 - Developing Digitial Information Using IT

IT6 - Using Digital Communication Technologies

IT8 - Creating a Spreadsheet to Solve Problems

IT9 - Creating a Website

IT11 - Developing a Digital Product

IT12 - Creating a Digital Animated Graphic

Progression & Employment

These qualifications prepare learners for further learning at a higher level in IT.  For example, these qualifications in IT could lead to Pearson BTEC Level 2 qualifications in this sector, or to the Pearson BTEC Level 2 Apprenticeship in IT Users Skills or BTEC Level 2 Diploma in Professional Competence for IT and Telecoms Professionals, or to a Level 2 qualification in other sectors.

Method of Assessment

Assessment is designed to fit the purpose and objective of the qualification and all units are internally assessed - giving learners the opportunity to demonstrate skills developed in applied scenarios.  There is a range of assessment styles suited to skills and sector-based qualifications at this level.

Entry Requirements

A reasonable standard of literacy and numeracy, supported by a general education equivalent to 4 GCSE grades C to E.

Additional Costs

All learners are required to pay an administration fee of £45 prior to enrolment.

You will need to provide your own stationery and may also incur costs if the department arranges educational visits.